How to watch the NHL on NBC online

Jai Agnish/Shutterstock (Licensed)

It’s not as easy as you might think.

Want to watch NHL on NBC? While you can pick up network channels for free with any TV, if you’ve cut the cord, you’ll need a cable or live TV streaming subscription to live stream NHL on NBC or to watch any other local programming. It’s frustrating, for sure, but you have plenty of options, and you might be surprised at just how many other channels you’ll be able to stream for a reasonable monthly fee. Here’s everything you need to know to stream the NHL on NBC and NBC Sports, complete with a full TV schedule of NHL games on NBC for the 2018-19 season.

NHL on NBC live stream: 7 ways to watch online

All six of the major live TV streaming services offer NBC and NBC Sports (or NBCSN). So when you’re trying to figure out which service is right for you, it’s all the other factors you want to consider to make your decision: cost, other channels available, the devices you can use, and what add-ons are available. We’ve done our best to break down everything you need to know.

1) Hulu with Live TV

  • Cost: $40 per month
  • Devices: Roku, Apple TV, Google Chromecast, Amazon Fire Stick and Fire TV, Xbox One, Xbox 360, Nintendo Switch, and iOS and Android devices
  • Local channels: Yes (Check your local availability here.)
  • NBC channels included: NBCSN, Olympic Channel, Golf Channel

Hulu is known for its on-demand library of network TV shows like This Is Us and The Good Place, so it’s no surprise that NBC is well-represented in its live TV offerings, and with Hulu with Live TV, you get the best of both worlds: a free Hulu account and more than 40 channels to surf in real time. (Here’s a complete guide to Hulu Live TV channels.)

Game-changing feature: Every subscription comes with free access to Hulu’s on-demand library, meaning you can catch up on all of your favorite shows. (Here are our picks for the best movies on Hulu, Hulu documentaries, anime, and the must-see Hulu originals.)

CLICK HERE FOR A FREE TRIAL OF HULU

watch nhl nbc sports schedule live stream hulu with live tv schedules Hulu

2) YouTube TV

As you might expect from YouTube TV, the streaming service offers the perfect balance of news, entertainment, and sports. It’s a solid option for streaming NHL on NBC, given its inclusion of NBC Sports and NBCSN, but you’ll also get a suite of ESPN channels, CBS Sports Network, and more. (Here’s a complete guide to YouTube TV channels.)

Game-changing feature: You can add up to six accounts per household, and each one of those accounts gets unlimited cloud DVR. Even better: You can fast-forward through ads in recorded programs.

READ MORE:

stream nhl nbc games youtube tv YouTube TV

YouTube TV

3) FuboTV

  • Cost: $44.99 for your first month and $54.99 per month thereafter (with a seven-day free trial)
  • Devices: Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire, Android TV, iOS and Android devices
  • Local channels: Yes. (Check local availability here.)
  • NBC channels included: NBC Sports, NBCSN, Golf Channel, Olympic Channel

In checking my own local availability, no other service came close to matching FuboTV in terms of NBC access. It offers two regional NBC Sports channels in addition to NBCSN, NBC, the Golf Channel, and the Olympic Channel. FuboTV is a great option for sports streaming in general, but it’s always worth noting that it lacks ESPN. (Here’s a complete guide to FuboTV channels.)

Game-changing feature: Three-day replay for games and 30 hours of cloud DVR.

CLICK HERE FOR A FREE TRIAL OF FUBOTV

nbc nhl live stream fubotv channels FuboTV

4) PlayStation Vue

  • Cost: $44.99-$79.99 per month
  • Devices: PlayStation 3 and 4, Roku, Amazon Fire, Google Chromecast, Kodi, iOS and Android devices
  • Local channels: Yes (Enter your ZIP code here to check your availability.)
  • NBC channels included: NBC (Access), Golf Channel, Olympic, and NBC Sports (Core)

PlayStation Vue is Sony’s streaming service, and despite the name, you don’t need a PlayStation to use it. NBC is included in the Access package ($44.99 per month), but you’ll have to upgrade to Core ($49.99 per month) to get NBC Sports, which hosts the vast majority of NHL games on the NBC network. For the price, there are better options, but if you need to stream from multiple devices at once, PlayStation Vue is your best bet. (Here’s a complete guide to PlayStation Vue channels.)

Game-changing feature: You can stream on up to five devices at once, and there’s unlimited cloud DVR.

watch nhl on nbc live stream playstation vue access channels PlayStation Vue

PlayStation Vue’s Access package

5) Sling TV

Unfortunately, NBC and NBC sports are only available in its Sling Blue ($25 per month) and Sling Orange + Blue ($40 per month) packages, and even then the service is quick to note that they’re only available in select markets. You’ll want to use the link above to double-check they’re offered in your area before committing. If they are, Sling TV is tough to beat. (Here’s a complete guide to Sling TV channels.)

Game-changing feature: Price. You can potentially watch NHL on NBC for as little as $25 per month.

CLICK HERE FOR A FREE TRIAL OF SLING TV

6) NBC Sports app

Cost: Free to download

Devices: Roku, Apple Airplay, Amazon Fire Stick and Fire TV, Xbox, iOS and Android devices

No matter which live TV streaming service you choose, you’ll want to download the NBC Sports app and plug-in your credentials immediately. The app gives you one more way to live stream NHL on NBC, and it works with most devices. Perhaps even more importantly, you’ll also get access to every other NBC Sports channel that’s in your package, including the Golf Channel, the Olympic Channel, and regional sports. You can also watch full game replays and customize the app to get highlights and alerts about the teams you care most about.

nbc sports nhl schedule NBC Sports/iTunes

NHL on NBC TV schedule 2018-19

NBC Sports will broadcast more than 100 NHL games during the 2018-19 season. That includes a new Wednesday Night Hockey program on NBCSN that will feature 17 double-headers and 25 weeks of action in total. NBC will also host 13 NHL games, starting Nov. 23, with the New York Rangers vs. Philadelphia Eagles.

All games are subject to change, and all times are ET.

Wednesday, Oct. 3

7:30pm, Boston Bruins at Washington Capitals | NBCSN

10:30pm, Anaheim Ducks at San Jose Sharks | NBCSN

Thursday, Oct. 4

7:30pm, Nashville Predators at New York Rangers | NBCSN

10pm, Philadelphia Flyers at Vegas Golden Knights | NBCSN

Tuesday, Oct. 9

7:30pm, San Jose Sharks at Philadelphia Flyers | NBCSN

Wednesday, Oct. 10

8pm, Vegas Golden Knights at Washington Capitals | NBCSN

Tuesday, Oct. 16

8pm, Arizona Coyotes at Minnesota Wild | NBCSN

Wednesday, Oct. 17

7pm, New York Rangers at Washington Capitals | NBCSN

9:30pm, Boston Bruins at Calgary Flames | NBCSN

Friday, Oct. 19

8pm, Minnesota Wild at Dallas Stars | NBCSN

Tuesday, Oct. 23

8pm, San Jose Sharks at Nashville Predators | NBCSN

Wednesday, Oct. 24

7pm, Toronto Maple Leafs at Winnipeg Jets | NBCSN

9:30pm, Tampa Bay Lightning at Colorado Avalanche | NBCSN

Tuesday, Oct. 30

8pm, Vegas Golden Knights at Nashville Predators | NBCSN

Thursday, Nov. 1

2pm, Winnipeg Jets at Florida Panthers | NBCSN

Tuesday, Nov. 6

7:30pm, Edmonton Oilers at Tampa Bay Lightning | NBCSN

Wednesday, Nov. 7

7:30pm, Pittsburgh Penguins at Washington Capitals | NBCSN

10pm, Nashville Predators at Colorado Avalanche | NBCSN

Tuesday, Nov. 13

7:30pm, Tampa Bay Lightning at Buffalo Sabres | NBCSN

Wednesday, Nov. 14

8pm, St. Louis Blues at Chicago Blackhawks | NBCSN

10:30pm, Anaheim Ducks at Vegas Golden Knights | NBCSN

Tuesday, Nov. 20

10:30pm, Edmonton Oilers at San Jose Sharks | NBCSN

Wednesday, Nov. 21

7:30pm, Philadelphia Flyers at Buffalo Sabres | NBCSN

Friday, Nov. 23

1pm, New York Rangers at Philadelphia Flyers | NBC

7:30pm, Chicago Blackhawks at Tampa Bay Lightning | NBCSN

Tuesday, Nov. 27

8pm, Vegas Golden Knights at Chicago Blackhawks | NBCSN

Wednesday, Nov. 28

7pm, St. Louis Blues at Detroit Red Wings | NBCSN

9:30pm, Pittsburgh Penguins at Colorado Avalanche | NBCSN

Tuesday, Dec. 4

7:30pm, Toronto Maple Leafs at Buffalo Sabres | NBCSN

Wednesday, Dec. 5

8pm, Edmonton Oilers at St. Louis Blues | NBCSN

10:30pm, Chicago Blackhawks at Anaheim Ducks | NBCSN

Tuesday, Dec. 11

7:30pm, Detroit Red Wings at Washington Capitals | NBCSN

Wednesday, Dec. 12

8pm, Pittsburgh Penguins at Chicago Blackhawks | NBCSN

Tuesday, Dec. 18

8:30pm, Nashville Predators at Chicago Blackhawks | NBCSN

Wednesday, Dec. 19

8pm, Pittsburgh Penguins at Washington Capitals | NBCSN

Friday, Dec. 21

7pm, Buffalo Sabres at Washington Capitals | NBCSN

Thursday, Dec. 27

7:30pm, Philadelphia Flyers at Tampa Bay Lightning | NBCSN

Tuesday, Jan. 1

1pm, Boston Bruins at Chicago Blackhawks | NBC

Wednesday, Jan. 2

7pm, Pittsburgh Penguins at New York Rangers | NBCSN

9:30pm, San Jose Sharks at Colorado Avalanche | NBCSN

Thursday, Jan. 3

7:30pm, Chicago Blackhawks at N.Y. Islanders | NBCSN

Sunday, Jan. 6

8pm, Chicago Blackhawks at Pittsburgh Penguins | NBCSN

Tuesday, Jan. 8

7:30pm, Philadelphia Flyers at Washington Capitals | NBCSN

Wednesday, Jan. 9

8pm, Nashville Predators at Chicago Blackhawks | NBCSN

Thursday, Jan. 10

8pm, Winnipeg Jets at Minnesota Wild | NBCSN

Monday, Jan. 14

7:30pm, Montreal at Boston Bruins | NBCSN

Tuesday, Jan. 15

8pm, Los Angeles at Minnesota Wild | NBCSN

Wednesday, Jan. 16

7:30pm, Boston Bruins at Philadelphia Flyers | NBCSN

10pm, San Jose Sharks at Arizona Coyotes | NBCSN

Thursday, Jan. 17

7pm, Chicago Blackhawks at New York Rangers | NBCSN

Sunday, Jan. 20

12:30pm, Washington Capitals at Chicago Blackhawks | NBC

Monday, Jan. 21

4pm, St. Louis Blues at Los Angeles | NBCSN

Tuesday, Jan. 22

9pm, Detroit Red Wings at Edmonton Oilers | NBCSN

Wednesday, Jan. 23

7:30pm, Washington Capitals at Toronto Maple Leafs | NBCSN

10pm, Nashville Predators at Vegas Golden Knights | NBCSN

Monday, Jan. 28

7pm, Winnipeg Jets at Philadelphia Flyers | NBCSN

Tuesday, Jan. 29

7:30pm, Philadelphia Flyers at New York Rangers | NBCSN

Wednesday, Jan. 30

8pm, Tampa Bay Lightning at Pittsburgh Penguins | NBCSN

Saturday, Feb. 2

8pm, Tampa Bay Lightning at New York Rangers | NBC

8pm, Minnesota Wild at Chicago Blackhawks | NBC

Sunday, Feb. 3

12:30pm, Boston Bruins at Washington Capitals | NBC

Wednesday, Feb. 6

8pm, Boston Bruins at New York Rangers | NBCSN

Sunday, Feb. 10

12:30pm, St. Louis Blues at Nashville Predators | NBC

7pm, Toronto Maple Leafs at New York Rangers | NBCSN

Monday, Feb. 11

7pm, Pittsburgh Penguins at Philadelphia Flyers | NBCSN

Tuesday, Feb. 12

7pm, Chicago Blackhawks at Boston Bruins | NBCSN

Wednesday, Feb. 13

8pm, Edmonton Oilers at Pittsburgh Penguins | NBCSN

Sunday, Feb. 17

12:30pm, New York Rangers at Pittsburgh Penguins | NBC

3pm, St. Louis Blues at Minnesota Wild | NBC

6pm, Philadelphia Flyers at Detroit Red Wings | NBCSN

Monday, Feb. 18

7:30pm, Tampa Bay Lightning at Columbus | NBCSN

10pm, Boston Bruins at San Jose Sharks | NBCSN

Tuesday, Feb. 19

8pm, Toronto Maple Leafs at St. Louis Blues | NBCSN

Wednesday, Feb. 20

7:30pm, Chicago Blackhawks at Detroit Red Wings | NBCSN

10pm, Boston Bruins at Vegas Golden Knights | NBCSN

Thursday, Feb. 21

8pm, Los Angeles Kings at Nashville Predators | NBCSN

Saturday, Feb. 23

8pm, Pittsburgh Penguins at Philadelphia Flyers | NBC

Sunday, Feb. 24

7pm, St. Louis Blues at Minnesota Wild | | NBCSN

Monday, Feb. 25

7:30pm, Los Angeles Kings at Tampa Bay Lightning | NBCSN

Tuesday, Feb. 26

7pm, Buffalo Sabres at Philadelphia Flyers  | NBCSN

Wednesday, Feb. 27

7:30pm, Tampa Bay Lightning at New York Rangers | NBCSN

10pm, Chicago Blackhawks at Anaheim Ducks  | NBCSN

Thursday, Feb. 28

7:30pm, Tampa Bay Lightning at Boston Bruins | NBCSN

Sunday, March 3

12:30pm, Washington Capitals at New York Rangers | NBC

7:30pm, Nashville Predators at Minnesota Wild  | NBCSN

Tuesday, March 5

8pm, Minnesota Wild at Nashville Predators | NBCSN

Wednesday, March 6

7:30pm, Washington Capitals at Philadelphia Flyers | NBCSN

10pm, St. Louis Blues at Anaheim Ducks | NBCSN

Thursday, March 7

7pm, Columbus Blue Jackets at Pittsburgh Penguins | NBCSN

Sunday, March 10

7:30pm, Boston Bruins at Pittsburgh Penguins | NBCSN

10pm, Los Angeles at Anaheim Ducks | NBCSN

Monday, March 11

8pm, San Jose Sharks at Minnesota Wild | NBCSN

Tuesday, March 12

7pm, Washington Capitals at Pittsburgh Penguins | NBCSN

Wednesday, March 13

7pm, Chicago Blackhawks at Toronto Maple Leafs | NBCSN

9:30pm, New Jersey at Edmonton Oilers | NBCSN

Sunday, March 17

7:30pm, Philadelphia Flyers at Pittsburgh Penguins | NBCSN

10pm, Edmonton Oilers at Vegas Golden Knights | NBCSN

Tuesday, March 19

7:30pm, Washington Capitals at New Jersey | NBCSN

Wednesday, March 20

7:30pm, Tampa Bay Lightning at Washington Capitals | NBCSN

10pm, Winnipeg Jets at Anaheim Ducks | NBCSN

Sunday, March 24

12:30pm, Philadelphia Flyers at Washington Capitals | NBC

8pm, Colorado Avalanche at Chicago Blackhawks | NBCSN

Monday, March 25

8pm, Nashville Predators at Minnesota Wild | NBCSN

Tuesday, March 26

7pm, Carolina at Washington Capitals | NBCSN

Wednesday, March 27

7:30pm, New York Rangers at Boston Bruins | NBCSN

10pm, Vegas Golden Knights at Colorado Avalanche | NBCSN

Sunday, March 31

12:30pm, New York Rangers at Philadelphia Flyers | NBC

7:30pm, Boston Bruins at Detroit Red Wings | NBCSN

Wednesday, April 3

8pm, St. Louis Blues at Chicago Blackhawks  | NBCSN

10:30pm, Calgary Flames at Anaheim Ducks | NBCSN

New to cord-cutting? Here are our picks for the best movie streaming sites of 2018 and free live TV apps and channels. If you’re looking for a specific channel, here’s how to watch HBO, Showtime, Starz, ESPN, AMC, FX, Fox News, MSNBC, CNN, FS1, TBS, TNT, Golf Channel, Cartoon Network/Adult Swim, the CW, NBA TV, the Weather Channel, and NFL RedZone without cable, as well as free movies on YouTube. If you’re on the move, here’s how to watch Fox Sports Go.

The Daily Dot may receive a payment in connection with purchases of products or services featured in this article. Click here to learn more.

Austin Powell

Austin Powell

Austin Powell is the managing editor of the Daily Dot. His work focuses on the intersection of entertainment and technology. He previously served as a music columnist for the Austin Chronicle and is the co-author of The Austin Chronicle Music Anthology.