New Google feature will let users auto-delete location data

BTW

Google on Wednesday announced a new feature that will let users auto-delete certain data, including their location history.

In a post on the company’s blog, Google revealed that users would soon be given the option to have their app activity, location data, and web history cleared automatically either every three or 18 months.

“Choose a time limit for how long you want your activity data to be saved—3 or 18 months—and any data older than that will be automatically deleted from your account on an ongoing basis,” Google said.

The new option, expected to begin rolling out “in the coming weeks,” aims to let users better control their data while still utilizing Google’s personalization features. Those uninterested in having their information used to personalize their online experience already have the option to entirely disable app activity, location data, and web history.

Google suggested that the new feature will likely be expanded in the near future to other content collected by the company.

The auto-delete option reportedly comes in response to users who have complained that managing their data is a cumbersome and overly-complex process.

“We work to keep your data private and secure, and we’ve heard your feedback that we need to provide simpler ways for you to manage or delete it,” Google added.

READ MORE:

Mikael Thalen

Mikael Thalen

Mikael Thalen is a tech and security reporter based in Seattle, covering social media, data breaches, hackers, and more.