Netflix will now let you disable autoplay previews

Netflix has announced that users can now decide whether or not they want autoplay enabled while browsing for content.

The company stated in a tweet on Thursday that the decision was made after listening “loud and clear” to feedback from its users.

“Some people find this feature helpful. Others not so much,” Netflix said. “We’ve heard the feedback loud and clear — members can now control whether or not they see autoplay previews on Netflix.”

Not only can users turn off the autoplay feature present while browsing Netflix’s library, but also the autoplay feature that starts a new episode of a show after one has been finished.

The changes can be made by first signing into your Netflix account through a web browser. Next, select the Manage Profiles option from the main menu. From there, select which profile you wish to make changes for.

If you want to disable autoplay while looking for content, uncheck the option for Autoplay previews while browsing on all devices. To stop show episodes from automatically starting, uncheck the option for Autoplay next episode in a series on all devices.

Netflix notes that it may take time for the new setting to take effect. Switching to another profile and then back to the profile where you made changes, however, should force the new options to enable if needed.

READ MORE:

Mikael Thalen

Mikael Thalen

Mikael Thalen is a tech and security reporter based in Seattle, covering social media, data breaches, hackers, and more.