fortnite pets


Fortnite has pets now, and Twitter is falling in love

They’re just too cute.


Ana Valens

Internet Culture

Fortnite: Battle Royale Season 6 dropped today, and along with a ton of new skins and map changes, Fortnite also introduced one of the most important features in the game’s history yet: Doggos.

Players that purchase a Season 6 Battle Pass can grind experience points and unlock three different pets: A dog, a chameleon, and a tiny dragon. It’s a pretty nifty little cosmetic, albeit a simple one. Pets just sit on your back and hang out as you run around the game killing opponents, and they don’t provide any gameplay improvements. They’re just furry friends.

But pets are pets, and the internet loves pets, so it didn’t take long for Twitter to collectively lose its cool after the feature leaked.

Pets are so cool that Fortnite players are declaring Season 6 the best season to date. All hail Epic Games.

But there are so many unanswered questions about the pets’ appearance in Fortnite. Players regularly shoot, bludgeon, and explode their opponents to death, so it’s unclear if the pets are safe during any of the game’s firefights. Others flat out refuse to kill anyone with a pet, because why would you do that?

Most importantly of all, everyone agrees that Fortnite’s new feature is about to take away their hard-earned cash.

Then again, all of our NeopetsNintendogs, and Tamagotchi haven’t been fed in a long time. Maybe we should skip out on getting another virtual pet until we take care of our others first.

In the meantime, you can get your own pupper by purchasing a Season 6 Battle Pass in Fortnite: Battle Royale. To get started, head over to Epic Games’ official website and set up an Epic Games account. Fortnite is available for free across PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC, Nintendo Switch, iOS, and Android, and the Season 6 Battle Pass can be purchased for 950 V-Bucks (or $9.50).

Share this article

*First Published:

The Daily Dot