Fortnite: Battle Royale Season 6 is now live.

Epic Games

Fortnite Season 6 is now live—and here are all the major changes

This time, there's pets.


Ana Valens

Internet Culture

Posted on Sep 27, 2018   Updated on May 21, 2021, 5:32 am CDT

It’s that time of year again. Epic Games’ runaway free-to-play hit Fortnite: Battle Royale just received its Season 6 update, ushering in all new skins, consumables, map changes, and gameplay tweaks for one of the gaming world’s most popular titles to date.

Epic brought Season 6 into Fortnite with a bang by unveiling a new announcement trailer alongside lengthy patch notes for players to check out. This time around, Loot Lake’s island has been lifted up into the sky, which is sure to cause some interesting battles for the game’s high ground in the days to come.

Just like Season 5, Epic Games teased Fortnite’s upcoming season with peculiar happenings throughout the game’s map. This time around, a purple cube called “Kevin” by fans dropped out of the sky and moved from place to place. By Sept. 19, Kevin had disappeared into Loot Lake, the game’s enormous pond in the center of the map, turning the lake purple and letting players bounce up and down on its surface.

With Season 6’s launch, Epic finally revealed more lore around the cube. Apparently, the cube has been activated and lifted Loot Lake’s island off the map, hence the in-game change. We don’t know much about the cube’s history yet, but we do know Kevin is already having an influence across the map: Seven new “Corrupted Areas” now feature Shadow Stones, which let players become invisible if they stay in place.

Alongside Fortnite’s latest lore addition, Season 6 also introduced a new Battle Pass filled with myriad outfit skins, sprays, back bling, and more for players to unlock. Most of these are Halloween-themed and include a werewolf outfit, a vampiress skin, and a Little Red Riding Hood skin. Of particular note is the season’s Level 100 skin, “Dire,” which isn’t just the most difficult new skin to acquire, but also features additional unlockable styles through gaining more experience points.

Oh, and Epic even added in pets now, too. These can be unlocked through purchasing the Season 6 Battle Pass, and players can wear them on their backs while in combat. Available pets include dogs, chameleons, and even dragons.

Fortnite now has pets. Run, don't walk, to get them.
Epic Games

Fortnite: Battle Royale Season 6 is available now across PC, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, Nintendo Switch, iOS, and Android. The game is free to play, and to get started, players can create an account at Epic Games’ official website.

Share this article
*First Published: Sep 27, 2018, 6:56 am CDT