Kumar Appaiah/Flickr (CC-BY)
The Pennsylvania Senate has approved a bill that would require people convicted of domestic violence to give up their firearms, the Associated Press reports.
Passing 50-0 on Wednesday and now on its way to the House, the bill would give people convicted of a domestic violence crime 48 hours to give up their firearms to law enforcement, a federally-licensed firearms dealer, or a lawyer. Current Pennsylvania law gives people convicted of these charges 60 days, and allows firearms to be transferred to a relative, friend, or neighbor.
The bill also requires defendants in final protection-from-abuse (PFA) cases to hand over firearms in 24 hours, a stricter requirement than the policy currently in place, which allows a judge to make that decision. Violating a PFA also counts as committing a domestic violence crime.
According to NPR affiliate WHYY, 102 people were killed in domestic violence incidents in Pennsylvania in 2016, with guns used in more than have of the killings. The bill will be heard in the House in April.
Pure, uncut internet. Straight to your inbox.