The ‘Fantastic Beasts’ franchise will span 19 years, leading to the rise of Voldemort

fantastic  beasts

Photo via Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them


The five Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movies will take place over a period of 19 years, according to a new interview with J.K. Rowling.

Speaking at the Fantastic Beasts premiere, Rowling said the original plan for a trilogy was just a “placeholder.” As she and her creative partners drafted the story, they realized their ideas were better suited to a five-film franchise.

To put that 19-year timeline in context, the first film takes place in 1926, with protagonist Newt Scamander (Eddie Redmayne) aged 29. Dumbledore and his nemesis/former friend Gellert Grindelwald (Johnny Depp) are both in their early 40s, and Grindelwald is halfway through his rise to power as a dark wizard.

Grindelwald was defeated in a wizard’s duel by Dumbledore in 1945, so it’s safe to assume this storyline will play a part in the final Fantastic Beasts film. It also provides a clear link back to the original Harry Potter series, because Voldemort was born on December 31, 1926, and finished his Hogwarts education in 1945.

Where to find the best ‘Fantastic Beasts’ merchandise on Etsy
We see lots of nifflers and bowtruckles in our future.
From Our VICE Partners

Pure, uncut internet. Straight to your inbox.