ONE Media/YouTube

Marvel unveiled its Phase 4 plans at San Diego Comic-Con 

We're getting a female Thor, Mahershala Ali will be the Blade, and Tessa Thompson will be MCU's first LGBTQ character.


Eilish O'Sullivan

Internet Culture

Posted on Jul 21, 2019   Updated on May 20, 2021, 8:20 am CDT

This article reveals spoilers for Avengers: Endgame and Avengers: Infinity War.

Marvel Studios unveiled its plans for Phase Four of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, which will consist of both movies and Disney+ series, at San Diego Comic-Con on Saturday.

We are getting a female Thor. It was announced that actress Natalie Portman is set to take up the hammer in Thor: Love and Thunder, which will debut on November 5, 2021. And Tessa Thompson, who plays Valkyrie in the franchise, might just become MCU’s first LGBTQ hero. “First of all, as a new king, she needs to find her queen. So that will be the first order of business” Thompson said at the panel.

“The answer is yes,” Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige said of the LGBTQ storyline. “How that impacts the story remains to be seen with that level of representation you’ll see across our films, not in just Thor 4.”

The Blade is getting a reboot. And Mahershala Ali is set to take on the titular role as the half-immortal vampire hunter. Feige told the Hollywood Reporter that Ali called Marvel Studios after winning an Oscar for Green Book and said that he wanted to be the Blade. Of course, they obliged.

“When Marhershala calls, you answer,” Feige told the magazine.

Scarlett Johansson will reprise her role as Black Widow in its standalone film, which is set to premiere on May 1, 2020. If you have seen Endgame by now, you know this has to be a prequel film. Rachel Weisz, Florence Pugh will also be joining Johansson as her co-stars. Oh, and Stranger Things’ David Harbour will be joining the MCU as none other than a character named Alexi.

Angelina Jolie is also joining the MCU with The Eternals, which is a lesser-known Marvel comic featuring a slew of 35,000-year-old aliens. Kumail Nanjiani, Brian Tyree Henry, Salma Hayek and Game of Thrones’ Richard Madden will join Jolie in the film. Marvel is sure to make The Eternals a household name with a lineup like that. The Eternals will premiere on November 6, 2020.

We’ll be meeting another new hero with Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, which will premiere on February 12, 2021. Simu Liu will take on the titular role of Shang-Chi, making him Marvel’s first Chinese superhero. Starring alongside Liu will be Awkwafina and Tony Leung.

Doctor Strange and the Multiverse of Madness, which will debut on May 7, 2021, is slated to be Marvel’s first horror film. The film will star Benedict Cumberbatch and Elizabeth Olsen.

What If…? is Marvel Studios’ first animated series in MCU, which will be exclusively streaming on Disney+ in the summer of 2021. The series will present MCU with alternate realities. “Many actors from across the MCU reprising their roles as voice talent,” Marvel announced on Twitter.

The Falcon and Winter Soldier will premiere as a Disney+ original series in the fall of 2020, which will make it the first Marvel series to hit the streaming service. Sam Wilson, played by Anthony Mackie, is the new Captain America who took up the shield in Endgame. It will take place post-Endgame and makes a team out of Wilson aka The Falcon and Bucky Barnes aka The Winter Soldier.

Feige said that Loki will take place pre-Endgame, which explains how Tom Hiddleston will be able to reprise the role. Loki is a Disney+ original show, which will premiere in the spring of 2021.

WandaVision takes place post-Endgame, and it’s still unknown how Vision will be revived. The Disney+ original series will feature Paul Bettany who will reprise his role as Vision. Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness will have a large presence in its storyline. Elizabeth Olsen will reprise her role as Wanda Maximoff and Scarlet Witch, which will connect the two storylines. It is slated for a spring 2021 release.

Hawkeye is yet another Disney+ original series set to launch in the fall of 2021. Jeremy Renner and Kate Bishop will star in the series. Hawkeye is set post-Endgame.

Feige also made another big announcement at Comic-Con: Endgame is set to dethrone Avatar to become history’s highest-grossing film. On Saturday, Endgame was expected to close the $500,000 gap standing in between it and the title by Sunday.

“Thanks to you, Avengers: Endgame is the biggest film of all-time,” Feige said at a panel.

Avatar director James Cameron, who held a nine-year reign with the film, congratulated Feige along with everyone at Marvel on Twitter.

Disney+ is slated to launch on November 12, 2019.


Got five minutes? We’d love to hear from you. Help shape our journalism and be entered to win an Amazon gift card by filling out our 2019 reader survey.

H/T the Verge

Share this article
*First Published: Jul 21, 2019, 9:16 am CDT