House Republicans nominated President Donald Trump for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Gage Skidmore/Flickr (CC-BY-SA)

House Republicans nominate Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

The lawmakers cite his efforts with North Korea.


David Gilmour


Published May 2, 2018   Updated May 21, 2021, 4:52 pm CDT

A group of House Republicans have nominated President Donald Trump to win the Nobel Peace Prize “in recognition of his work to end the Korean War.”

Featured Video Hide

The letter to the Norwegian Nobel Committee, penned by Rep. Luke Messer (R-Ind.) and signed by 17 other Republican lawmakers, credits the president for bringing peace to the region “through strength policies.”  

Advertisement Hide

“Since taking office, President Trump has worked tirelessly to apply maximum pressure on North Korea to end its illicit weapons program and bring peace to the region,” the letter says. “We can think of no one more deserving of the Committee’s recognition in 2019 than President Trump for his tireless work to bring peace to our world.”

Messer writes that Trump “united the international community” to bring strategic pressure on North Korea to end its nuclear missile testing, citing South Korean President Moon Jae-in’s recommendation that Trump be awarded the prize.

In April, North Korean leader Kim Jong-Un announced that his regime would halt its nuclear program, shut down its test site, and hold a historic summit with South Korea to formally end the half century state of war between the two.

Trump is set to meet with Kim himself in a meeting still to be organized but expected to take place within the next two months.

Advertisement Hide

Should the meetup take place, Trump will be the first sitting president to meet a North Korean leader and is a long way from the threats the pair exchanged throughout last year.

The Republican lawmakers, in writing their letter, join with the voices of right-wing media personalities and Trump supporters across the country.

Advertisement Hide

If he is nominated and wins the honor, Trump will follow in the footsteps of his predecessor President Barack Obama, who won the prize in 2009 “for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples.”

Share this article
*First Published: May 2, 2018, 4:22 pm CDT