All sizes | Delete | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
Except for Netflix, which is forever.

Signing up for Web services can feel like joining the mob: Once you're in, you're in for life. 

Deleting your account puts you through a multi-step process, sometimes involving an awkward conversation with customer service, and it doesn't always stop a company from retaining your data in case you ever come crawling back. (I'm looking at you, Facebook.)

Fortunately, U.K. developer Robb Lewis has created a less painful way out. It's called Just Delete Me

With the click of a button, you can find the fastest way to quit Skype, Facebook, Google, or even the dreaded Klout. And you won't even have to go into witness protection. 

Lewis built the site after seeing a few tweets about Skype's inconvenient account removal process, and he assumed it would get "a few hundred visitors." 

It did. And then some. More than 3,000 fed-up Web users visited Just Delete Me in its first 24 hours of operation. The site now lists more than 90 Web services, color-coded based on how hard they make it to remove your account. 

Even Just Delete Me can't help you vanish from the Internet entirely, though—your shameful Netflix viewing history is forever.

Photo by pleeker/Flickr

Promoted Stories Powered by Sharethrough
Your embarrassing MySpace profile will probably never be deleted from the Internet
It's time to talk about one of the overlooked banes of the internet: The Curse of the Zombie MySpace Profile. Many former MySpace users are stuck forever with old profiles stamped across their Google results like a bad butterfly tattoo, reminding everyone of how lame they once were. Including me.
From Our VICE Partners

Pure, uncut internet. Straight to your inbox.

Thanks for subscribing to our newsletter!