Beyonce Jay-Z Everything Is Love new album


Beyoncé, Jay-Z drop surprise new album, and the internet can’t get enough

This was quite a shock.


Josh Katzowitz


Posted on Jun 17, 2018   Updated on May 21, 2021, 1:22 pm CDT

Beyoncé surprised the music world Saturday night by dropping a new album with her husband Jay-Z called “Everything Is Love.”

It was, for many observers, quite a shock.

It’s a nine-track album, and it suddenly appeared on Tidal at about 5:30pm on Saturday evening after Beyoncé introduced the record on social media and at a concert in London (as of this writing, the album is not available on Spotify).

The duo, who released the album under the name The Carters, also dropped a video for the song “Apeshit,” which is set in the Louvre in Paris.

More from the New York Times:

“Everything Is Love” in many ways completes the Knowles-Carter conceptual trilogy in an expert, tactical showing of family brand management. “Let’s make love in the summertime,” Beyoncé sings on the first track, “Summer,” introducing the album’s overriding message of romantic bliss. “I want to drown in the depths of you.” The second track features her singing a triumphant refrain: “I can’t believe we made it.”


“Everything Is Love” also includes songs called “Boss,” “Friends,” “Heard About Us” and “Lovehappy,” the album’s closing track, in which Jay-Z declares, “We broke up and got back together.” Beyoncé adds, “We came and we conquered/now we’re happy in love.” Tidal also posted a song separate from the album, titled “Salud!,” that features both artists.

Beyoncé and Jay-Z are currently on an international stadium story that will begin its U.S. run on July 25 in Cleveland. The American leg of the tour will end Oct. 4 in Seattle.


Share this article
*First Published: Jun 17, 2018, 8:12 am CDT