Scottish independence referendum results, as they happen

Scotland’s future lies in the balance: After record turnout, the polls in today’s historic referendum have closed, and the votes are being tallied. After 300 years of Union, will Scotland finally claim its independence and go it alone?

Scotland has been divided into 32 distinct regions. Votes are individually tallied at the regional centers and publicly announced as they are produced, before being culmunatively totalled up. All 32 local authority regions hope to be declared by 7am BST Friday morning (2am ET, 1am CT,  11pm PT). If the vote is especially close, however, it could be much later. 

The Daily Dot will keep this page updated as the results come in. The earliest are expected at 2am BST Friday (9pm ET, 8pm CT, 6pm PT Thursday), and they’ll continue to trickle through half-hourly from there until 6am (1am ET, 12am CT, 10pm PT)—barring any irregularities or recounts.

Incidentally, the full scheduled timetable above was reportedly calculated using the 2010 National Election—however, given the markedly higher turnout in the referendum, the count may take longer.

Photo via Logan C/Flickr (CC BY 2.0)

Rob Price

Rob Price

Rob Price is a technology and politics reporter who served as the U.K.-based morning editor for the Daily Dot until 2014. He now works as the news editor for Business Insider, and his work has appeared in Vice, Slate, the Washington Post, and the Independent.