Article Lead Image

These celebrities who want you to Rock the Vote didn’t vote last time

Rock the act of telling other people to vote!


Kevin Collier


Posted on Nov 3, 2014   Updated on May 30, 2021, 7:04 am CDT

The world is largely a lie, but we still held out hope that celebrities promoting civic engagement were the exception to the rule—until now.

A Washington Post investigation reveals that between five and twelve of the fourteen celebrities involved in MTV’s Rock the Vote campaign didn’t vote in the last midterm election.

Girls creator Lena Dunham, Orange is the New Black star Natasha Lyonne, Whoopi Goldberg, Glee actor Darren Criss, and Rich Kids of Beverly Hills reality show participant E.J. Johnson failed to register to vote in the 2010 midterm elections, according to to a search of Los Angeles and New York public records by the Post.

That leaves eight other participating celebrities: rapper Lil Jon, Portlandia star Fred Armisen, fitness instructor Tracy Anderson, One Tree Hill star Sophia Bush, model Ireland Baldwin, singer Devendra Banhart, Io Echo singer Ionna Gika, and dancer Gabriel Valenciano. The Post reported that it was unable to locate voting records for six of them, meaning that two did vote, although the report did not specify which two those were.

A spokesperson for Rock the Vote said that all its participants were registered to vote in 2014.

Lil Jon plans to vote this election, he says in the video, because he wants to vote for marijuana legalization.

H/T Washington Post. Screengrab via MTV/YouTube | Remix by Jason Reed

Share this article
*First Published: Nov 3, 2014, 2:27 pm CST