Congressman James Clyburn said ‘sexting’

Vote it like it's hot.

 

Eric Geller

Tech

Published Sep 12, 2014   Updated May 30, 2021, 2:39 pm CDT

Warning: This article contains an annoying autoplay video.

Featured Video Hide

Every once in a while, C-SPAN viewers get to watch something that makes the network’s gavel-to-gavel coverage of corn subsidy debates almost boring by comparison. On Aug. 30, that something was a senior House Democrat mistakenly advising constituents to distribute lewd photos of themselves.

Advertisement Hide

Representative James Clyburn (D-S.C.), the Assistant House Democratic Leader and third-ranking member of the House minority, said “sexting” during an open-phones session at the 2014 National Book Festival in Washington, D.C. (He likely meant to say “texting.”) Unfortunately, the microphone only picks up what you say, not what you mean to say.

“Clyburn, 74, told an anguished caller that Americans concerned about the Michael Brown and Trayvon Martin shootings should employ Twitter, Facebook and ‘sexting’ to organize,” The Daily Caller reported on Thursday.

“We’ve got great tools to communicate about everything else,” said Clyburn, the author of the book Blessed Experiences: Genuinely Southern, Proudly Black. “We can, uh, text. Uh, what do we call it? Sexting. Let’s do some voting, uh, uh, organizing over the internet. We’ve got the tools.”

Clyburn was right about one thing: Sexting someone is a pretty good way to show them that you’ve got the tools.

Advertisement Hide

voting is hot like u #clyburnsexts

— Adam Smith (@asmith83) September 12, 2014

let me send u a pic of my polling place #clyburnsexts

— Amanda Terkel (@aterkel) September 12, 2014

asl? u shld vote #clyburnsexts

— Amanda Terkel (@aterkel) September 12, 2014

who wants the (D)? #clyburnsexts

— Simon Maloy (@SimonMaloy) September 12, 2014

4 what purpose duz the gentleman rise? #clyburnsexts

— Todd Zwillich (@toddzwillich) September 12, 2014

Advertisement Hide

“They used to call me ‘The Whip'” #clyburnsexts

— Eliot Nelson (@eliotnelson) September 12, 2014

poles aren’t only for strippers lol come vote #clyburnsexts

— Igor Bobic (@igorbobic) September 12, 2014

hey wus up u 18 let’s vote #clyburnsexts

— Sahil Kapur (@sahilkapur) September 12, 2014

Photo via USDAgov/Flickr (CC BY 2.0)

Share this article
*First Published: Sep 12, 2014, 3:57 pm CDT