Article Lead Image

Is your mayor in Comcast’s pocket?

Time to name and shame.


Kevin Collier


Posted on Sep 5, 2014   Updated on May 30, 2021, 3:39 pm CDT

You, like most people, probably don’t want reviled Internet providers Comcast and Time Warner Cable to join forces to create a mega-corporation that could kill the Internet as we know it. But you’re probably not a mayor of a large American city.

A whopping 52 mayors from cities across the country have all declared their support for the merger. In a signed letter to the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) published Thursday, Aug. 21, they adopt those companies’ twisted logic that a near-monopoly would be a good thing for their citizens.

As it happens, Comcast and Time Warner are regarded by several surveys as the most hated companies in America. They spend a fortune lobbying Congress to overturn net neutrality, which, if successful, would allow them to charge customers more to access certain websites at full speed.

Unlike the tools available to expose donations to members of Congress—to whom Comcast and Time Warner have given millions of dollars in campaign donations, some of it to politicians who then directly tried to kill net neutrality—there isn’t a central database to search mayoral campaign contributions.

Regardless, you probably want to know if your mayor has an inexplicable taste for high prices, low speeds, and terrible customer service. And if they do, you might want to give them a call.


William A. Bell, Sr., Birmingham


Tom Tait, Anaheim

Kathleen DeRosa, Cathedral City

Harry Price, Fairfield

Acquanetta Warren, Fontana

Jeffrey Gee, Redwood City


Pedro E. Segarra, Hartford


Steve Hogan, Aurora

Marc Williams, Arvada

Richard N. McLean, Brighton

Michael B. Hancock, Denver


Joy Cooper, Hallandale Beach

Alvin Brown, Jacksonville

George Vallejo, North Miami Beach

John Marks, Tallahassee

Tomas Regalado, Miami

Lori C. Moseley, Miramar

Buddy Dyer, Orlando

Frank C. Ortis, Pembroke Pines

Cindy Lerner, Pinecrest


Michael A. Boehm, Lenexa

Michael Copeland, Olathe


Kevin J. Dumas, Attleboro

Gary Christenson, Malden

Michael McGlynn, Medford

Daniel Rizzo, Revere

New Jersey

Albert B. Kelly, Bridgeton

Dana Redd, Camden

Frank Nolan, Highlands

David DelVecchio, Lambertville

Gary J. Passanante, Somerdale

Thomas F. Kelaher, Toms River

Eric Jackson, Trenton

New Mexico

Richard J. Berry, Albuquerque

Ken Miyagishima, Las Cruces

New York

Byron Brown, Buffalo

Ernest D. Davis, Mount Vernon


Lou Odgen, Tualatin


Joseph DiGirolamo, Bensalem

Eric Papenfuse, Harrisburg

Rick Gray, Lancaster

Robert A. McMahon, Media

Michael A. Nutter, Philadelphia

C. Kim Bracey, York

South Carolina

Joe Riley, Charleston

Stephen K. Benjamin, Columbia


Lee Leffingwell, Austin

Beth Van Duyne, Irving

Allen Owen, Missouri City

Leonard Scarcella, Stafford

Matthew Doyle, Texas City


Correction: This story originally placed Hartford in Colorado, rather than Connecticut. We regret the error.

This article was originally published Aug. 22, 2014. You can support net neutrality by participating in the Internet Slowdown Day.

Photo via Chris Potter (CC BY 2.0)

Share this article
*First Published: Sep 5, 2014, 5:12 pm CDT