The simultaneously best and worst part of the Internet is that nothing can ever really be deleted. Facebook Messages are only one chat client this applies to. Which means that even once you’ve deleted something… you actually haven’t.


 

If you delete a message from your Facebook inbox by pressing the X, it is sent to your archived folder, meaning it isn’t in any way deleted. So, good news if you want to recover old conversations that you carelessly deleted! And bad news if you recover old conversations you purposely deleted. Nobody wants to be forced to re-live conversations with their ex they thought were banished forever.

But if you do want to find these messages you X’ed out of, go to Messages and click on the “More” drop down tab. Then click “Archived.”


 

Voila! Here you probably have years of old conversations that you thought were gone forever. If you do want them to disappear once and for all, select a conversation, click the “Actions” drop down menu, then select “Delete conversation.”

Under the same tab, you can also click “Unarchive conversation” to send the message back into your inbox.

Warning from personal experience: We do not suggest visiting your archive folder at work, as it contains hours worth of material.

Photo via slgckgc/Flickr (CC BY 2.0)