Article Lead Image

Bill Murray, Jerry Seinfeld, Robert de Niro join ‘SNL’ 40th anniversary show

SNL drops more than 30 names for 40th anniversary special.


Audra Schroeder


Posted on Feb 2, 2015   Updated on May 29, 2021, 3:32 pm CDT

Feb. 15 is shaping up to be a pretty big night for Saturday Night Live

In addition to the return of Eddie Murphy, the 40th anniversary special is going to see the return of former cast members like Chevy Chase, Dan Akroyd, Will Ferrell, Mike Myers, Tina Fey, Maya Rudolph, Dana Carvey, Chris Rock, Martin Short, Molly Shannon, Amy Poehler, and Bill Murray, to name a few. 

A few commercials during last night’s Super Bowl teased the special, which also boasts appearances from Kanye West (who prepared for his Debbie Downer bit last night), Robert De Niro, Jerry Seinfeld, Taylor Swift, Melissa McCarthy, Christopher Walken, Jack Nicholson, and Betty White. 

If Murray and Akroyd will be on hand, and so will the cast of the new Ghostbusters film… fingers crossed. Now they just need to bring Fear back for a musical performance.

A spokesperson told the Wrap more names will be announced in coming days. The show airs Feb. 15 at 8pm ET. 

Photo via Paul Sherwood/Flickr (CC BY 2.0)

Share this article
*First Published: Feb 2, 2015, 6:59 pm CST