Article Lead Image

Screengrab via World Wide Videos/YouTube

Frank Ocean releases new album titled ‘Blonde’

The wait is over!


April Siese


Posted on Aug 20, 2016   Updated on May 26, 2021, 5:27 am CDT

After significant delays mitigated by the release of the visual album Endless, a full 17-track LP has been released by Frank Ocean. The Odd Future member teased opening track “Nikes” on Friday night, releasing an evocative video that speaks to sonic duality, fleeting love, and loss.

Initially titled Boys Don’t Cry the album available to a wider audience is now called Blonde. It’s unclear whether the Boys Don’t Cry magazine for sale at pop-up shops on Saturday will be available in anything more than a limited capacity. Fans will certainly be taking their time with this smattering of powerful new tracks that is Blonde, though.

“Skyline To” is the minimalism meets nostalgia fans clamored for when Channel Orange was released four years ago, while skits and throwaway tracks like “Be Yourself” and “Good Guy” set the scene for an album larger than the sum of its parts.

Blond is available now on Apple Music. The full list of tracks is below:

  1. Nikes
  2. Ivy
  3. Pink + White
  4. Be Yourself
  5. Solo
  6. Skyline To
  7. Self Control
  8. Good Guy
  9. Nights
  10. Solo (Reprise)
  11. Pretty Sweet
  12. Facebook Story
  13. Close to You
  14. White Ferrari
  15. Seigfried
  16. Godspeed
  17. Futura Free

Update 8:46am CT, Aug. 21: This article has been updated to correct the album title. Additionally, a Boys Don’t Cry album still exists, as does its accompanying magazine, though in a limited capacity. Both were sold at pop-ups around the country as well as in London on Saturday.

Update 3:36pm CT, Aug. 21: This article has been updated for clarity.

Share this article
*First Published: Aug 20, 2016, 9:25 pm CDT