David Bowie’s final recordings released on 4-song EP

Bernie Sanders wins Nevada Caucuses
The likely win in Nevada makes it clear Sanders is the early front runner.

See all Editor's Picks

On what would have been his 70 birthday—and 363 days after he diedDavid Bowie’s final recordings (and a video) were released Sunday.

The EP is called No Plan, and it features four songs, including a meandering but sweet “No Plan;” a rocking keyboard-heavy “Killing a Little Time;” a classic Bowie sound in “When I Met You;” and the saxophone-tinged, space-rock sound of “Lazarus.”

As NME points out, these tracks were recorded at about the same time as Bowie’s final album, Blackstar, and they were used for Bowie’s musical, Lazarus. But this is the first time the new material is available as a standalone piece. 

Here’s the video for “No Plan.” Make sure to read the YouTube comments, because Bowie fans were shocked (yet ecstatic) to realize that new Bowie material was available.

You can also listen to all four songs on Spotify.

H/T NME.com

Josh Katzowitz

Josh Katzowitz

Josh Katzowitz is a staff writer at the Daily Dot specializing in YouTube and boxing. His work has appeared in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and Los Angeles Times. A longtime sports writer, he's covered the NFL for CBSSports.com and boxing for Forbes. His work has been noted twice in the Best American Sports Writing book series.