Article Lead Image

Photo via

New music: 6 songs from Local Natives, Kings of Leon, Post Malone, and more

This week's most urgent and new streaming cuts.


Kristen Hubby


Posted on Sep 10, 2016   Updated on May 26, 2021, 1:24 am CDT

Kings of Leon

Kings of Leon teased its upcoming album, Walls, with the release of the breezy first single, “Waste A Moment.” Walls arrives on Oct. 14 and will be the band’s first album since 2013’s Mechanical Bull.

The new track is a steady rock anthem, with electric guitars blazing and heavy percussion setting the scene as the song gears up for its expansive chorus. Frontman Caleb Followill’s signature raspy voice sings care-free lyrics encouraging listeners to seize the day.

According to Billboard, the rockers picked up and moved to Los Angeles to “eat some sushi” and “get some sunshine.” With the first glimpse of Walls, it’s easy to see the chill, West Coast vibes has had an influence on Kings of Leon’s latest material.

Post Malone

Post Malone teamed up with Justin Bieber for a new, smooth track called “Deja Vu,” which hit Spotify on Friday. After Malone’s public apology for his first album not releasing on Aug. 28 as promised, “Deja Vu” almost feels like a peace offering.

“Deja Vu” is a floating, steady track with tropical notes, snares, and a steady bass backbeat. Bieber and Malone take turns serenading listeners on the sensual chorus, crooning, “Tell me is that deja vu? ‘Cause you want me and I want you.”


A decade after their 2006 farewell album, Just Like The Fambly Cat, the California indie-rock band Grandaddy has returned with the release of two new singles: “Way We Won’t” and “Clear Your History.” 

Of the two, “Way We Won’t” is definitely the catchiest, with crunchy electric guitar riffs, celestial rhythm waves, and frontman Jason Lytle’s soothing voice. The track grazes the topics of consumerism and nostalgia, offering fans an enticing comeback after the band’s long break. 


Based in Los Angeles, the alt-pop outfit machineheart released a new single, “Stonecold” ahead of its currently untitled sophomore EP that’s yet to find a release date. Machineheart first caught the public’s eye with a cover of Katy Perry’s “Unconditionally.” The band made its pop debut with 2015’s In Your Dreams.

On “Stonecold,” frontwoman Stevie Scott’s glistening croon captures our attention instantly. The track is a simple combination of electric percussion, deep piano notes and high vocal tones reminiscent of ’80s pop.

Francis and the Lights 

Francis and the Lights shared a new electric single, “See Her Out” on Friday. The pop artist is known for his collaborations with The Weeknd and Chance the Rapper as well as Kanye West and Bon Iver for his single “Friends” released last month.

“See Her Out” features minimalistic synths fading in and out between Francis and the Light’s soft vocals. Halfway through, the song turns into a pleasantly chaotic synth-catastrophe, suddenly switching to near silence for the close.

The eclectic D.R.A.M. released another fun track on Friday, “Cash Machine,” about the euphoric feeling of the “get money” mentality. D.R.A.M. recently collaborated with Chance the Rapper for “Broccoli” this summer—a banger that’s still widely bumped. 

The track feels like a lit birthday party at an old school piano bar, as a vintage, quirky ragtime reel plays on repeat. Sound effects of cash flowing from the ATM and subtle percussion plays in the foreground.

“I ain’t talking to you broke bitches, I got money now,” D.R.A.M. sings. Congratulations, man.

Share this article
*First Published: Sep 10, 2016, 8:00 am CDT