How to watch Obama’s immigration address online

Here we go.

 

Rob Price

IRL

Published Nov 20, 2014   Updated May 30, 2021, 4:09 am CDT

Tonight, President Barack Obama will address the nation in a hotly-anticipated speech about the American immigration system. He has promised to bypass a gridlocked Congress and use his “lawful authority” to adjust the country’s immigration policies. 

Featured Video Hide

“Everybody agrees that our immigration system is broken. Unfortunately, Washington has allowed the problem to fester for far too long,” the President said in a video uploaded to the White House Facebook page. 

Advertisement Hide

The President’s address will began at 8pm EST (7pm CST, 5pm PT). It can be watched on the White House website—or right here:

Fox News reported that Obama’s actions will “protect roughly 5 million illegal immigrants from deportation,” while the New York Times provided further details.

Predictably, Obama’s decision to sidestep Congress has generated scorn from congressional Republicans. House Homeland Security Committee chairman Michael T. McCaul and House Judiciary Committee chairman Bob Goodlatte called on Obama to “respect the Constitution and abandon any unconstitutional, unilateral executive actions on immigration.”

The White House/YouTube

Share this article
*First Published: Nov 20, 2014, 3:00 pm CST