ESPN+ is essential for the 2019 MLB season

Keith Allison/Flickr (CC-BY-SA)

Here’s one more reason to try ESPN’s subscription service.

If you’re not quite ready to commit to MLB.TV, ESPN+ is the next best thing. ESPN’s new subscription service offers one marquee MLB matchup daily, starting Opening Day with Bryce Harper’s highly anticipated debut for the Philadelphia Phillies against the Atlanta Braves. But there’s much more to ESPN+ than just MLB games. In fact, it’s quickly becoming as essential for sports fans as ESPN itself. You’ll find everything else you need to know about the service and the current MLB on ESPN+ schedule below.

MLB ESPN Plus ESPN

What is ESPN+?

  • Cost: $4.99 per month or $49.99 for 12 months (after 7-day free trial)
  • Devices: Chromecast, Amazon Fire TV and Fire Tablet, Apple TV, Android TV, Roku players and TV, Oculus Go, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, Samsung smart TVs, and iOS and Android devices

Let’s get one thing straight: ESPN+ is not a substitute for ESPN. It’s a supplement. That means you won’t be able to watch SportsCenter or Monday Night Football, for example, but you will be able to stream an almost unfathomable amount of live sports and original programming you won’t find elsewhere, including 20 exclusive UFC Fight Night events per year. (In fact, if you’re a UFC fan, you’ll be excited to know that you’ll get a free year of ESPN+ access if you order a UFC pay-per-view through the service, thanks to a new partnership between the two companies.)

Launched in April 2018, ESPN+ is an extension of the ESPN site and app. Think of it as a key that unlocks special content. It has its own tab, but you’ll also notice the ESPN+ content sprinkled throughout the site and app. It’s marked with an “E+” logo in the upper left-hand corner (as seen below).

mlb espn schedule 2019 ESPN

In addition to one MLB game per day, you’ll also be able to watch the MLS’ entire out-of-market schedule. That’s more than 250 games over the course of the season. Soccer fans will also be able to follow the FA Cup, with an estimated 200 total games streamed annually, including the Sky Bet Championship Playoffs, League 1 and League 2. You’ll also get to watch more than 100 Top Rank fights and more college sports that you can even imagine. For what it’s worth, ESPN+ members can also access exclusive articles on the ESPN site and will see fewer ads across ESPN properties. 

All of the MLB games featured on ESPN+ can also be viewed with a subscription to MLB.TV, which lets you watch every out-of-market MLB game, but it’s significantly cheaper and comes loaded with tons of other features you won’t find anywhere else.

Did I mention that you’ll also be able to unlock the entire 30 for 30 catalog? That alone is worth $4.99 per month.

TRY ESPN+ FOR FREE


MLB on ESPN+ schedule for 2019 season

The 2019 schedule for MLB games on ESPN+ is only available through the end of April. We’ll update this post when more listings are confirmed. All times ET.

Thursday, March 28

3pm, Atlanta Braves vs. Philadelphia Phillies

Friday, March 29

7pm, Houston Astros vs. Tampa Bay Rays

Saturday, March 30

1pm, Baltimore Orioles vs. New York Yankees

Sunday, March 31

2pm, St. Louis Cardinals vs. Milwaukee Brewers

Monday, April 1

7pm, New York Mets vs. Miami Marlins

Tuesday, April 2

10pm, Boston Red Sox vs. Oakland A’s

Wednesday, April 3

12:35pm, Milwaukee Brewers vs. Cincinnati Reds

Thursday, April 4

6pm, Toronto Blue Jays v. Cleveland Indians

Friday, April 5

7:20pm, Miami Marlins vs. Atlanta Braves

Saturday, April 6

1pm, Kansas City Royals vs. Detroit Tigers

Sunday, April 7

1pm, New York Yankees vs. Baltimore Orioles

Monday, April 8

7pm, Washington Nationals vs. Philadelphia Phillies

Tuesday, April 9

7pm, Minnesota Twins vs. New York Mets

Wednesday, April 10

10pm, Milwaukee Brewers vs. Los Angeles Angels

Thursday, April 11

1pm, Cleveland Indians vs. Detroit Tigers

Friday, April 12

7pm, Tampa Bay Rays vs. Toronto Blue Jays

Saturday, April 13

1pm, Chicago White Sox vs. New York Yankees

Sunday, April 14

1:35pm, Pittsburgh Pirates vs. Washington Nationals

Monday, April 15

7:40pm, Toronto Blue Jays vs. Minnesota Twins

Tuesday, April 16

10pm, Houston Astros vs. Oakland A’s

Wednesday, April 17

2pm, Kansas City Royals vs. Chicago White Sox

Thursday, April 18

1pm, Chicago White Sox vs. Detroit Tigers

Friday, April 19

8pm, Houston Astros vs. Texas Rangers

Saturday, April 20

1pm, Chicago White Sox vs. Detroit Tigers

Sunday, April 21

1:20pm, Arizona Diamondbacks vs. Chicago Cubs

Monday, April 22

8pm, Minnesota Twins vs. Houston Astros

Tuesday, April 23

6pm, Miami Marlins vs. Cleveland Indians

Wednesday, April 24

7pm, Arizona Diamondbacks vs. Pittsburgh Pirates

Thursday, April 25

8pm, Cleveland Indians vs. Houston Astros

Friday, April 26

10pm, Texas Rangers vs. Seattle Mariners

Sunday, April 28

4pm, Texas Rangers vs. Seattle Mariners

4pm, Pittsburgh Pirates vs. Los Angeles Dodgers

Monday, April 29

8pm, Tampa Bay Rays vs. Kansas City Royals

Tuesday, April 30

9:45pm, Los Angeles Dodgers vs. San Francisco Giants

TRY ESPN+ FOR FREE

The Daily Dot may receive a payment in connection with purchases of products or services featured in this article. Click here to learn more.

Austin Powell

Austin Powell

Austin Powell is the managing editor of the Daily Dot. His work focuses on the intersection of entertainment and technology. He previously served as a music columnist for the Austin Chronicle and is the co-author of The Austin Chronicle Music Anthology.