Darrell Issa to leave Congress after term ends

Darrell Issa/Flickra


Rep. Darrell Issa (R-Calif.) announced today that he will not seek reelection, becoming another major Republican congressman who will depart the chamber in 2019.

Issa faced a tough campaign in 2016, winning his seat by just 2,000 votes over Democrat Douglas Applegate, who plans to run again in 2018.

The demographics of Issa’s district make a loss possible. In 2016, Hillary Clinton took Issa’s district by seven points, and it has been targeted by Dems as a seat they can flip in the House of Representatives in the upcoming election.

Issa is the latest in a string of prominent Republicans who are resigning from Congress. His announcement comes on the heels of Sen. Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), Sen. Bob Corker (R-Tenn.), and Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah) announcing they would not seek reelection. Earlier in the summer, Rep. Jason Chaffetz (R-Utah) resigned from Congress.

Rep. Ed Royce (R-Calif.) announced on Monday that he too would not seek reelection. At least 18 Republicans in Congress have said they will not seek reelection.

David Covucci

David Covucci

David Covucci is the Layer 8 editor at the Daily Dot, covering the intersection of politics and the web. His work has appeared in Vice, the Huffington Post, Jezebel, Gothamist, and other publications. He is particularly interested in hearing any tips you have. Reach out at [email protected]