2020 Dems unite for Giffords-backed gun safety PSA

Eight 2020 Democratic hopefuls for the party’s presidential nomination appeared in a gun reform and gun safety PSA for a group founded by former Rep. Gabrielle Giffords.

Sen. Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Sen. Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Mayor Pete Buttigieg, Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), former Rep. Beto O’Rourke, and former Vice President Joe Biden appeared in the video from Giffords: Courage To Fight Gun Violence, a gun violence prevention group.

Its message is that “our kids deserve to be safe at school” and pushes for a #GunSafetyPresident. On Tuesday morning, the hashtag was trending on Twitter.

In the video, each of the candidates say part of a script before it flashes to the next person. The candidates promise to act in “bold” ways to combat gun violence, specifically in schools.

Giffords: Courage To Fight Gun Violence says the video is one of several that will be released in the coming weeks.

“Our Gun Safety President campaign frames a critical and historic choice for our nation,” Rep. Giffords said in a statement. “We can continue with the corrupt leadership of Donald Trump, who has taken millions from the NRA while opposing gun safety policies—or we can forge a new path and elect a gun safety president who’s willing to stand up to the gun lobby and protect our kids and communities from gun violence. This campaign will give Americans a closer look at just how committed the candidates running against Trump are in the fight to save lives.”

Last month, a different gun advocacy group ran a series of television ads calling on Republicans to “stand up to the gun lobby” and pass gun reform laws.


Andrew Wyrich

Andrew Wyrich

Andrew Wyrich is a politics staff writer for the Daily Dot, covering the intersection of politics and the internet. Andrew has written for USA Today, NorthJersey.com, and other newspapers and websites. His work has been recognized by the Society of the Silurians, Investigative Reporters & Editors (IRE), and the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ).