nV win CoD

Screengrab via Call of Duty/YouTube

The team claimed their first title at the third time of asking.

After four days of gruelling competition, EnVyUs emerged victorious as the new Call of Duty world champions.

The American organisation bested Splyce in the final 3-1 to claim the $800,000 prize after coming up short in finals appearances in 2013 and 2014.

After a disappointing 2015 campaign saw them fail to reach the top eight, a brand new roster featuring 2015 world champion Jordan Kaplan, Austin "SlasheR" Liddicoat, Johnathon Perez and Bryan "Apathy" Zhelyazkov saw them emerge from the pack as a strong contender for the World Championship throughout the Call of Duty World League.

Splyce ended up as the surprise package of the whole tournament in reaching the final, the first non-U.S. team to do so in the four year history of the competition. Before 2016 the United States had had a stranglehold on the game, with no team from outside the U.S. even reaching the final four.

Splyce's achievement nets the team $250,000, while third place team Team eLevate take home $150,000. The ever popular Optic Gaming could only manage a top eight finish.

For EnVyUs, the title has been a long time coming. Only Optic Gaming and Epsilon Esports share the record of appearing in every Call of Duty World Championship, but only EnVyUs had reached the final more than once. Up until now, their third appearance in the grand final, they had yet to claim the trophy. 

Promoted Stories Powered by Sharethrough
call of duty
Angry grandpa playing 'Modern Warfare' is your new spirit animal
Science has yet to explain why a teenager shouting about video games is profoundly obnoxious while a 60-year-old grandfather doing the same is hilarious. But does that really matter? Nope.
From Our VICE Partners

Pure, uncut internet. Straight to your inbox.

Thanks for subscribing to our newsletter!