kindle books list

Photo via Amazon (CC-BY)

Who run the best-selling books list? Girls.

Who run the best-selling books list on Amazon? Girls.

Seven out of the top 10 most sold Kindle books of the year (so far) are authored by women. Three have “the girl” in the title. A girl may have no name, but the girl has many aliases in literature right now.

But these best-selling books wouldn’t be at the top of Amazon’s 2016 reading list (so far, anyway) if they weren’t for everyone. If you’re looking for something to read on the beach, in the car, or in place of less enticing mandatory summer reading, these books won’t let you down.

For more book recommendations, check out Amazon’s full list of bestsellers

1) The Girl in the Ice by Robert Bryndza

Amazon

From the publisher: The last investigation Erika led went badly wrong… resulting in the death of her husband. With her career hanging by a thread, Erika must now battle her own personal demons as well as a killer more deadly than any she’s faced before. But will she get to him before he strikes again? A page-turning thriller packed with suspense. If you like Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter, discover Rob Bryndza’s new series today – at a special launch price.

Kindle Price: $0.99 (regularly $12.99)

Buy it here


2) Me Before You: A Novel by Jojo Moyes

Amazon

From the publisher: A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, “What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?”

Kindle Price: $9.99

Buy it here


3) The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

Amazon

From the publisher: With courage, grace and powerful insight, bestselling author Kristin Hannah captures the epic panorama of WWII and illuminates an intimate part of history seldom seen: the women's war. The Nightingale tells the stories of two sisters, separated by years and experience, by ideals, passion and circumstance, each embarking on her own dangerous path toward survival, love, and freedom in German-occupied, war-torn France--a heartbreakingly beautiful novel that celebrates the resilience of the human spirit and the durability of women. It is a novel for everyone, a novel for a lifetime.

Kindle Price: $9.99

Buy it here


4) The Wedding Dress by Rachel Hauck

Amazon

From the publisher: Four brides. One Dress. A tale of faith, redemption, and timeless love. Each [bride] with her own story of promise, pain, and destiny. And each with something unique to share. For woven within the threads of the beautiful hundred-year-old gown is the truth about Charlotte’s heritage, the power of courage and faith, and the timeless beauty of finding true love.

Kindle Price: $5.99 (regularly $7.99)

Buy it here


5) The Last Mile by David Baldacci

Amazon

From the publisher:  Convicted murderer Melvin Mars is counting down the last hours before his execution--for the violent killing of his parents twenty years earlier--when he's granted an unexpected reprieve. Another man has confessed to the crime. Amos Decker, newly hired on an FBI special task force, takes an interest in Mars's case after discovering the striking similarities to his own life: Both men were talented football players with promising careers cut short by tragedy. Both men's families were brutally murdered. And in both cases, another suspect came forward, years after the killing, to confess to the crime. A suspect who may or may not have been telling the truth.

Kindle Price: $14.99 (regularly $29)

Buy it here


6) A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest

Amazon

From the publisher: What happens when WITCHES meet VAMPIRES? For fans of Harry Potter, Twilight, The Vampire Diaries and True Blood, prepare to be transported to the breathtaking new world of The Shade… On the evening of Sofia Claremont's seventeenth birthday, she is sucked into a nightmare from which she cannot wake. A quiet evening walk along a beach brings her face to face with a dangerous pale creature that craves much more than her blood.

Kindle Price: Free

Buy it here


7) The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Amazon

From the publisher: Every day the same: Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost. Until today. And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel goes to the police. But is she really as unreliable as they say? Soon she is deeply entangled not only in the investigation but in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

Kindle price: $12.99 (regularly $26.95)

Buy it here


8) The Girl You Lost by Kathryn Croft

Amazon

From the publisher: Eighteen years ago, Simone Porter’s six-month-old daughter, Helena, was abducted. Simone and husband, Matt, have slowly rebuilt their shattered lives, but the pain at losing their child has never left them. Then a young woman, Grace, appears out of the blue and tells Simone she has information about her stolen baby. But just who is Grace – and can Simone trust her? When Grace herself disappears, Simone becomes embroiled in a desperate search for her baby and the woman who has vital clues about her whereabouts. Simone is inching closer to the truth but it’ll take her into dangerous and disturbing territory. Simone lost her baby. Will she lose her life trying to find her?

Kindle price: $2.99 (regularly $11.99)

Buy it here


9) The Last Anniversary by Liane Moriarty

Amazon

From the publisher: Sophie Honeywell always wondered if Thomas Gordon was the one who got away. He was the perfect boyfriend, but on the day he was going to propose, she broke his heart. A year later he married his travel agent, while Sophie has been mortifyingly single ever since. Now Thomas is back in her life because Sophie has unexpectedly inherited his aunt Connie's house on Scribbly Gum Island—home of the famously unsolved Munro Baby mystery.

Kindle price: $9.99

Buy it here


10) Fool Me Once by Harlan Coben

Amazon

From the publisher: Former special ops pilot Maya, home from the war, sees an unthinkable image captured by her nanny cam while she is at work: her two-year-old daughter playing with Maya’s husband, Joe—who was brutally murdered two weeks earlier. The provocative question at the heart of the mystery: Can you believe everything you see with your own eyes, even when you desperately want to? To find the answer, Maya must finally come to terms with deep secrets and deceit in her own past before she can face the unbelievable truth about her husband—and herself.

Kindle price: $13.99

Buy it here


MORE BAZAAR DEALS:

The Daily Dot may receive a payment in connection with purchases of products or services featured in this article. Click here to learn more.


Promoted Stories Powered by Sharethrough
bazaar
Nintendo fans will geek out over Vans' new shoe line
Dust off your NES and start looking for coin blocks, because Vans and Nintendo have joined forces to create the greatest shoe line that ever was. (Yes, even greater than Vans’ color-changing shoes 15 years ago.)
From Our VICE Partners
Group

Score the hottest new products & exclusive discounts.

The latest deals from the Daily Dot. Right in your inbox.

Thanks for subscribing to The Daily Dot Bazaar newsletter!